“Home”

tumblr_lzodd9r9au1roi4rso1_1280

This piece was created to deal with my feelings as a new homeowner. It was a tumultuous process buying a house in the middle of the economic slump, and we faced some pretty vocal opposition. Everyone asked if signing the papers was dramatic, but it really wasn’t, because any emotions we had about it had been very worked through and discussed. But I was proud of my house and what we had managed to do. So this door was a symbol of those feelings: ownership, pride, home. The circles were meant to represent our issues and emotions.

Technically, I painted this on a sheet of primed canvas that was not stretched on anything. Because of that, it ended up being damaged as it moved around. I never displayed this, because I could never quite repair it enough to feel like I could show it.

Oil on canvas. 2009.

Leave a Reply

