“Boat”

tumblr_lzwnyfriak1roi4rso1_1280

I forget where the idea really came from. I was very in to antiquing at this point, and I think it was just an epiphany that happens when your exposing yourself to something over and over. I kept finding antique images, and they really spoke to me. I’d look at them and see art. Not only that, but something lost, forgotten, unacknowledged. Here was a photo taken decades ago, did anyone care? We all die, our objects scattered. Did someone love this, or was is something just stuffed in a box and forgotten? I had a billion questions about these images. And thats what this is about, what my art is still about. I ask questions as I paint, and I love them, and I pull the art I see in them forward.

This was the first. An experiment.

Acrylic on canvas. 2010.

Leave a Reply

