Mural: Vista Grande Kids Country

tumblr_m2pnwxltjs1roi4rso4_500

My second mosaic mural, created with my students at Kids Country, was a lot of fun. It was also a gigantic learning experience. I guess every time I made a mural I grew exponentially. This was my first time creating one with low fire clay and engobe colored slips. That was essential when working with elementary age level kids, including kindergartners. There wouldn’t really be a good way to bring the pieces back to the kids and have them glaze their own. So the engobe allowed me to have them paint on wet clay, and then I would give it a clear coat of glaze. Time consuming, but worth it.

Completed 2012.

tumblr_m2pnwxltjs1roi4rso3_500tumblr_m2pnwxltjs1roi4rso2_500tumblr_lzqdla1kiw1roi4rso1_1280

Leave a Reply

